Foundation Program

Monday Nights | 6:30—9pm

Starting SEPTEMBER 24 with The New Heart of Wisdom

Deepen your wisdom experience and connect with spiritual friends.  

If you’ve been regularly attending drop-in meditation classes (General Program), joining Foundation Program (FP) is the next step in deepening your practical experience of Buddha’s teachings.

Taught by Gen Kelsang Chokyi, Resident Teacher at AKBC, each class includes chanted prayers, oral transmission of the book, guided meditations, and discussion.

FP classes are structured to provide continual teachings from one book until it is complete. Students commit to come to each class, engage in longer meditations, actively interact with fellow students during discussion, and study and read outside of class. By applying consistent effort in this way, we naturally build our confidence and ability to apply Dharma in daily life, create strong connections with our community of friends, and joyfully make progress on our spiritual journey.

Cost and Benefits

$65/month for FP classes, plus:

• Unlimited General Program classes

• Unlimited Weekend Retreat Series

• 1/2 off Mini Meditation Retreat Series

[wpep_button id=”3575″]

TO JOIN please contact Angela Stewart, Education Program Director:


The program is based on a systematic study of six Kadampa Buddhist texts written by NKT founder Venerable Geshe Kelsang Gyatso. The oral transmission of the book combined with guided meditations and discussion, will build our confidence to apply Dharma in daily life. 

By doing this consistently, we will joyfully turn our initial insights into actual realizations of Dharma. Most of all, by building a connection with the teachings and spiritual friends, Foundation Program is the perfect way to enjoy a spiritual community.

This systematic presentation of particular subjects of Mahayana Buddhism enable practitioners to deepen their knowledge and experience of Buddhism. The program is comprised of five subjects based on Buddha’s Sutra teachings and the corresponding commentaries by Geshe Kelsang Gyatso:

The Stages of the Path to Enlightenment, based on the commentary Joyful Path of Good Fortune; Training the Mind, based on the commentaries Universal Compassion and Eight Steps to Happiness; The Heart Sutra, based on the commentary The New Heart of Wisdom; Guide to the Bodhisattva’s Way of Life, based on the commentary Meaningful to Behold; and Types of Mind, based on the commentary How to Understand the Mind.